All posts in "The Outdoor Gear Review"
Share

Made for the Outdoors – Ombraz Armless Sunglasses Review

August 23, 2019

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Outdoor Sunglasses…..that are ‘armless?’
Susie and I today have a review of the Ombraz Armless Sunglasses which are truly made for outdoor use!

Link : https://ombraz.com
..

Check out our web site for more information concerning everything seen on our Channel including reviews, insight into what is coming up and a chance to vote and influence our upcoming overnight adventures.

http://www.theoutdoorgearreview.com/

Come Join Us on Facebook and Twitter:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter: https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev
…..

Share

Before You Buy – LiteFighter 1 Combat Tent – Setup

August 21, 2019

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

The Setup process is very important when it comes to the purchasing a tent; how easy or how complex is it?

Today Luke is setting up the LiteFighter 1 Combat Tent in multiple ways and this is an episode of Before You Buy!
..

Check out our web site for more information concerning everything seen on our Channel including reviews, insight into what is coming up and a chance to vote and influence our upcoming overnight adventures.

http://www.theoutdoorgearreview.com/

Come Join Us on Facebook and Twitter:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter: https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev
…..

Share

Alone in the Wild – Bushcraft Adventure – One With Nature

August 16, 2019

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Join Luke as he goes into the forest for his next adventure which is all about Bushcraft, Real Bushcraft!

Crafting!
Cooking!
Building!
Animals!
Weather.
..

Check out our web site for more information concerning everything seen on our Channel including reviews, insight into what is coming up and a chance to vote and influence our upcoming overnight adventures.

http://www.theoutdoorgearreview.com/

Come Join Us on Facebook and Twitter:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter: https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev
…..

Share

Budget Camping Cot – Alps Mountaineering Cot – Review

August 14, 2019

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is reviewing the Alps Mountaineering Cot which is a budget friendly, good quality option for your outdoor/overland needs.

Link : https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001LF3G7M

Cost : $64 at the time of filming on Amazon – Retail $80)

Color : One Color – Green

Weight : 11.5lbs

Lightweight and compactible
Green 600D polyester fabric
34″ x 9″ x 2″ carry bag
Durable steel frame
Dimensions: 30″ w x 74″ l x 7.5″ t
Weight: 9 lbs. 5 oz.
Weight capacity: 250 lb.
….

Review Pros

Rather simple to setup

Good quality

Has held up well for with my use

Lot profile means that it can be used in side of some tents.

Excellent for car/truck/overland camping

Carry bag is plenty big so you won’t have any frustrations there

The material has held up well to the last 3 months of use. I weight 155 – 160 by the way and I can’t comment on heavier individuals and how the material will hold up.

Review Cons :

Support bars don’t lock into place solidly

Support bars can be a pain to remove

Not the quickest to put together; there are faster to setup options on the market such as the Go-Kot

Those with weak muscles may have issues with putting this cot together as you will have to use strength to get the legs into place. Using your body weight to push the legs into place works nicely

While the quality is good, it’s not to the same level as the Go-kot for an example but it is far less expensive.

The legs don’t have any feet to protect your tent or whatever surface that you put it on; this is a feature that you will find in some higher end cots.

While the quality of mine is good, I have seen plenty of reports of poor quality when it comes to this product. When you have something that is of a budget nature, it is often common for there to be some problems which may require you to send it back and get a replacement. Defects are possible with anything but with budget gear, that will happen at a higher rate so keep that in mind.

….

All in all I like this Cot, the price is good, the one that I purchased and receive is of a good quality. The design isn’t flat out terrible but it isn’t the best. It is heavy and I wouldn’t personally use it for backpacking.

Check out our web site for more information concerning everything seen on our Channel including reviews, insight into what is coming up and a chance to vote and influence our upcoming overnight adventures.

http://www.theoutdoorgearreview.com/

Come Join Us on Facebook and Twitter:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter: https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev
…..

Share

That’s a lot of Power! – Anker PowerHouse 200 – Review

August 12, 2019

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is the Anker Powerhouse 200 and the question is, what do you need it for?

200 watt hour capacity!

2 – USB / 1- USB- C
1 -12 volt car output
1 – 110v AC output

Our review starts now!

Link : https://www.amazon.com/Anker-Powerhouse-Rechargeable-Generator-Emergencies/dp/B07DDHC5MV

Price : $350

Weight : 6lbs 1.5oz

Size : Roughly 7”L x 5.5”W X 4.7”T

This a battery bank / generator which is perfect for all sorts of situations.

200 watt hour capacity / which is 57,600 milliamps hours

3 input options :

· USB / USB- C (60 total watts of power from the usb ports)
· 12 volt car output
· 110v AC output

Carry handle – Is excellent, comfortable and allows for you to easily grab and move the device when you need to

Grippy feet on the bottom

….

Issues :

We’ve had no issues with our testing of this device over the last 3 months.

Cold weather does have an impact upon this bank;

For an example, one morning with temps around 45F, the battery bank read 71% charger left. But a few hours later when the temps were in the 70’s, it stated that the remaining charge was 84%.

Time Usage :

Floor Fan : 6.5 hours

Charge my laptop : 3 times

Camera Batteries : one fully charged Powerhouse will charge my camera batteries 52 times!

My Samsung Phone : 14 times

Uses :

Emergency use

Overland use

Camping use

Tailgating

Cross country driving

Photography and video shoots

Review Pros :

Lots of power

Very portal – not all that heavy

Easy to use – right out of the box, it makes sense and you can use it.

Shows which ports are being used and battery percentage

Quick to charge

Some ports can be used at the same time; AC and USB or 12V and USB

Can charge the powerhouse while using the ports as long as you aren’t consuming more power than what it is getting from the wall.

Countless protection systems built-in including protection from overloading your gear, temp control, high-voltage, etc.

Review Cons :

Pricey – Compared to other similar products on the market, this one is more expensive. On the flip side, you are getting a product from a company which has a strong background with quality and customer service and that alone is enough to justify the price.

AC and 12V can’t be used at the same time; I mention this as there may be a situation where you wish that you could run them at the same time but I haven’t been in that situation with my use.

Summary :

I have been looking for a product like this for a long time as I am one who happens to film a great deal of video and one of the biggest hurdles for me especially on week long road trips is power. Power for my laptop so I can get work done and a way to charge my camera batteries.

Talking about filming, I rarely film indoors but when I do, I plug my studio light into this the powerhouse and I can easily move my light source and the battery bank as I move around without having to look for a plug; this saves me time.

Then of course, comes the overland aspect and this is an awesome option for that as well as you can charge a phone, run a fan, run lighting and so on all at the same time.

Not talking about youtube for a moment but with my full time job, I never get a day off so if I go on a trip, I still have to work and this allows for me to have the power to do just that. With my cross country trips what you all don’t see in those is having to stop to powerup my laptop or the time that I had to work; this for me is a game changer and it really works well in that regards.

Another side to this product is emergency use and again, it works very well in that regards and Susan and I recently got to test this product out for that exact purpose. There was an outage in our area which lasted roughly 12 hours and the Powerhouse kept us going throughout the night with lights, charging our devices and so on.

Anker is a leader when it comes to mobile power solutions and I have countless battery banks from them which are over 4 years old and continue to work flawlessly.
..

Check out our web site for more information concerning everything seen on our Channel including reviews, insight into what is coming up and a chance to vote and influence our upcoming overnight adventures.

http://www.theoutdoorgearreview.com/

Come Join Us on Facebook and Twitter:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter: https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev
…..

Share

Giveaway – Fenix E30R Flashlight – Enter Now

August 9, 2019

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

This is the Fenix E30R Flashlight and I have been ‘running’ with one of these for the last couple of months; it’s an excellent flashlight and in fact, it is so good that I want to give one away to a lucky viewer!

ENTER NOW!

..

Check out our web site for more information concerning everything seen on our Channel including reviews, insight into what is coming up and a chance to vote and influence our upcoming overnight adventures.

http://www.theoutdoorgearreview.com/

Come Join Us on Facebook and Twitter:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter: https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev
…..

Share

The Next Generation – Force Protector Gear FOR76 – Review

August 7, 2019

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is one of my favorite pieces of military gear currently;
Force Protector Gear FOR76 Deployment Duffle Bag!

It is AWESOME!

Link : https://www.forceprotector.com/fpg-online-store/SmartPack-Loadout-Bag-p94857825

NSN for coyote color is: 8465-01-665-0773
NSN for multicam color is: 8465-01-664-7547
NSN for black color is: 8465-01-664-7499
..

Check out our web site for more information concerning everything seen on our Channel including reviews, insight into what is coming up and a chance to vote and influence our upcoming overnight adventures.

http://www.theoutdoorgearreview.com/

Come Join Us on Facebook and Twitter:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter: https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev
…..

Share

Well, Well, Well What is This? Viewer Mail Episode #63

August 5, 2019

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

It is mail time and look at what was sent in by some very generous viewers!

I’m speechless and thankful!
..

Check out our web site for more information concerning everything seen on our Channel including reviews, insight into what is coming up and a chance to vote and influence our upcoming overnight adventures.

http://www.theoutdoorgearreview.com/

Come Join Us on Facebook and Twitter:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter: https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev
…..

Share

Perfect Summer Blanket? – Nemo Puffin Blanket Review

August 2, 2019

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

This is my review of the Nemo Puffin Insulated Blanket!
Very light, very warm and also, versatile!

Link : https://www.amazon.com/Puffin-Blanket-Person-Mossy-Fiddlehead/dp/B07MTS31HF

Price : $99 for the regular size ($150 for the luxury 2 p version)

Weight of Blanket : 2lbs 3oz

Weight with Storage bag : 2lbs 6z

I did notice a discrepancy when it comes to the weight of the Blanket when it comes to Nemo’s website and the information card which came attached to the storage bag. The card states that it weighs 1lb 14oz and the site states 2lbs 3oz. 2lbs 3oz being accurate.

Colors : Numerous color options can be found depending on what year it was made. Speaking of which, it was released around the end of 2014.

Packed Size

14 x 12 x 5”

Fill Weight

1 lb , 5 oz

Dimensions

57 x 85 in – Some sites such as amazon state the size being

60” wide which is incorrect

Color

Mossy / Fiddlehead

Stuff Sack

Internal stuff sack

Fabric

40D Nylon Micro-Ripstop with DWR

Stratofiber Synthetic Insulation

Buttery soft nylon micro-ripstop is quiet and easy to wash.

Ultra-lofty synthetic insulation is packable and warm.

Foot Nook™ keeps feet tucked in and out of the cold.

Updated integrated storage case makes a fun pillow when stuffed.

Catenary outwardly curved edges are a superior shape for wrapping around.

Custom art label for a high-quality, vintage feel.

Puffin™ Luxury is sized to fit two people with more room for cuddling.

What’s Included

Internal stuff sack

………………

Review :

Temp Rating? A product like this is going to be very hard to gage when it comes to a temp rating and that because it is a blanket. With such a design it is difficult to trap heat and get an accurate rating. With myself, I have used this blanket many times down to 40F by itself and was perfectly comfortable. I sleep hot so keep that in mind; your mileage is going to vary!

Pros :

This is a summer time blanket, perfect for those nights where you want on leg out and one leg in. Perfect for warm nights that turn into cool mornings.

You can even use it to add additional warmth to your winter time bag and the integrated footbox makes that especially easy to do.

Not constrictive!

Easy to wash

Good around moisture thanks to the synthetic insulation

Easy to vent

The foot box is awesome and if you don’t need it, undo it.

Good quality

Works very well inside of a hammock thanks to the foot pocket

Cons :

Pricey – not when compared to similar products like the Tech Blanket from Thermarest but very expensive when comparing it to other options like the military poncho liner…woobie blanket as they are also known as. A woobie costs around $20 and are awesome for summer time use.

As far as cons go, that’s about it; it is pricey for what you are getting otherwise it is a good product for those whom don’t want a sleeping bag or traditional down quilt for summer use.
..

Check out our web site for more information concerning everything seen on our Channel including reviews, insight into what is coming up and a chance to vote and influence our upcoming overnight adventures.

http://www.theoutdoorgearreview.com/

Come Join Us on Facebook and Twitter:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter: https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev
…..

Share

How To Care for Your Backpacking Gear When the Trip is Over

July 31, 2019

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

The adventure is over and you return home with some dirty gear and some work to do.

When I come home from a backpacking trip, these are the steps which I go through every single time to ensure that my gear continues to work properly and lasts me long into the future.
..

Check out our web site for more information concerning everything seen on our Channel including reviews, insight into what is coming up and a chance to vote and influence our upcoming overnight adventures.

http://www.theoutdoorgearreview.com/

Come Join Us on Facebook and Twitter:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter: https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev
…..

1 2 3
Page 1 of 3
>