All posts in "The Outdoor Gear Review"
Share

Japanese Cassette Stove – Soto G Stove ST-320

October 9, 2019

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Different, definitely different!
In this episode you are going to see a Japanese backpacking stove which is known as the Soto G Stove ST-320.

It’s a ‘Cassette’ stove and you likely haven’t seen anything like it before.

Link : Find on eBay

Price : $80 – $300

Weight : Stove with case : 15.6oz

Stove with Gas full Canister : 1lb 11.5oz

Material: Body = Aluminum / Stainless, Tinder = Aluminum die-casting, Valve = Brass

Measurement of the stove folded : approx. 1” deep – 3 “ wide – 5.5” long

Measurements of the Stove attached with gas can : 14.” long

BTU: Every source that I have looked at states a different figure in regards to performance. Some say its 8,000 BTUS while others state 9,900.

Canvas case

Book stove – which you may know as a cassette stove. 90% of you have likely never heard that term before.

Butane canisters are CHEAP; 12 of these for $25

Brand Soto, which is owned by the Japanese company Shinfuji Burner Co., specializing mainly in the design and manufacturing of outdoor gear, has recently introduced a new gas burner stove G-Stove ST-320, which inherits the previous version Soto STG-10. The new burner stove stands out for its original design, which combines a relatively compact size, a good protection from the wind and a high level of stability on different surfaces and for its ability of adapting to the size of any pots and dishes.

The case of G-Stove ST-320 is designed as a book, in it is placed directly with the burner control, and Heat Reflector with gas ignition and a curved stand under the cookware. To fix the burner on the open box special grooves are fixed with clips. Two folding aluminum frames support the canister from the outer side of a gas stove.

At this point, the burner Soto G-Stove ST-320 is officially available only for the Japanese market. The cost of the burner stove starts from $100 depending on the choice of retailers.

For anyone who is unfamiliar with butane gas canisters, that notch is important, and needs to be facing up when in use. The reason is that the notch is aligned with a tube inside the gas canister, and that tube ends up along the inside edge wall. When the notch is facing up, the intake for the tube is also at the top. Why does this matter? Because the gas canister needs to send out vaporized gas, not liquid. So the tube alignment facing up ensures that only vaporize gas is released through the fuel exit point.]

Since I learned of this stove and got one of them in, I have learned from a viewer that in Japan at least they are very common stove but there are stoves much are much cheaper than this which work just as well.

Pezo ignitor doesn’t always work and from what I heard have a high failure rate.

Popular with motorcycle riders because of the slim form factor

Connecting to Butane cans can be troublesome if you are not experience.

There is another version of this stove which is called the STG-10: 2.9kW – offers more btus

Web Site : www.theoutdoorgearreview.com

Come Join Us on Facebook and Twitter:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter: https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev
…..

Share

The Outdoor Community is Luke No Other! – Viewer Mail Episode #65

October 6, 2019

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

It is mail time and look at what was sent in by some very generous viewers!

We are speechless and thankful!
..

Check out our web site for more information concerning everything seen on our Channel including reviews, insight into what is coming up and a chance to vote and influence our upcoming overnight adventures.

http://www.theoutdoorgearreview.com/

Come Join Us on Facebook and Twitter:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter: https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev
…..

Share

Foldable Kayak? – ORU Bay St Kayak Review

October 4, 2019

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Is a foldable Kayak the right boat for you?
What are the pros?
What are the cons?

Is it worth $1,600?

This is my Agenda Free review of the ORU Bay St Kayak.


Link : https://www.orukayak.com/products/bay-st

Price : $1,600

Weight : 28lbs

To be honest, I haven’t heard of this company but I have been impressed by how many people have!

ORU offers multiple styles of foldable kayak, each with a specific area of use; this is the Bay ST which is perfect for fishing, river, lake, etc us. Best Use Flatwater Kayaking

12ft long, 25” wide

Packed Dimensions33 x 12 x 29 inches

300 lb weight capacity, allowing room for 1 adult + plenty of gear

Made in USA.

Made of 5mm double-layered custom-extruded polypropylene (double walled plastic)
· Seat Type Padded / Foam

Because of the lightweight nature of this kayak I would recommend this for relatively smooth water; hit the lake on a nice day, launch into a slow flow creek. Oru rates this for handling class I and II rapids. Personally my comfort level with this kayak would be class a and class 1.

Class A; – Lake water. Still. No perceptible movement. Calm

Class I – Easy. Smooth water; light riffles; clear passages, occasional sand banks and gentle curves. The most difficult problems might arise when paddling around bridges and other obvious obstructions. Classification

The Bay ST wouldn’t be my first choice for Class II or higher rapids; it’s simply to light and is easily affected by the elements which you are facing.

Class II – Moderate. Medium-quick water; rapids with regular waves; clear and open passages between rocks and ledges. Maneuvering required. Best handled by intermediates who can maneuver canoes and read water.

Share

Our Favorite Waterproof Jacket – Outdoor Research Interstellar Review

October 3, 2019

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke and Susie are reviewing the award winning Outdoor Research Interstellar jacket. Is it as good as everyone says that it is? Find out now with our year-long review.

Link Mens : https://www.outdoorresearch.com/us/en/mens-interstellar-jacket/p/2644190189007

Link Womens : https://www.outdoorresearch.com/us/en/womens-interstellar-jacket/p/2644290189008

Price : Retail is $299 but will vary; at the time of filming, I saw the black version for $200

Versions : Men’s and Women’s

Colors : Will vary depending on refresh but at the time of filming there is Black, Blue, Red, Yellow, and I have seen Orange still in stock from a previous OR refresh on amazon. The women’s version has their own colors as well such as black, purple, a teal color and a red which they call garnet

Sizes : S, M, L, XL, XXL (women sizes XS-XL)

Fit : Trim Fit – meant more for being active – low bulk – still enough room for a mid insulation layer

Weight : Large is 11.6oz; lighter is smaller size, heavier if larger.

Material : 3 layer nylon shell Hardshell with an AscentShell ; 20D nylon stretch ripstop front with 100% polyester 12D backer; material feels very soft, not plasticky or silky.

There is a lot of geeky talk that I could go into when it comes to this material but to sum it up; what makes it so impressive is how much moisture can transmit through it

Ykk aqua-guard zippers with a storm flap behind it

Who is this For : This is a high-end waterproof jacket for those want a very lightweight jacket that also performs at a high end level. There are plenty of excellent low-end waterproof jackets but with lower level materials you breathability suffers. For an example, the Marmot Precip is one that I often recommend when asked about a budget friendly waterproof jacket. The con is breathability and the amount of moisture which can collect on the inside of the jacket.

Pros :

Price – This is a pro and con; pricey but yet cheaper than a good quality goretex jacket. Much, much cheaper than some brands.

Superlight weight; lighter than any Gore-Tex jacket that I have ever owned. In fact, this is the lightest hardshell I have seen.

Excellent waterproofing performance. – If you are going to be in an environment which features nonstop flooding downpours, a much more expensive gore-tex pro jacket would be recommended. For most people though, that level of protection and weighty jacket isn’t needed.

Excellent breathability – better than any high end goretex jacket that I have ever owned and I have many; Mountain hardware, Marmot and so on.

The jacket will flex and stretch with you allowing you to move and do what you need to.

Packable – you can pack this super, super small and it will stuff into its own hand pocket!

Can be used with a helmet for climbing as an example – but the brim doesn’t cover your face

Performances excellently with snow-

Sizing is right on; it is a trim fit though so you may need to size up depending on what you want to wear underneath it.

Very comfortable – it doesn’t feel like you are wearing a waterproof jacket –

Stylish – I really like the orange color but couldn’t find it in that color at the time of ordering. I do like the yellow; it’s banana yellow, sticks out like a sore thumb….and I still like it a lot.

Font pockets sit a bit low for use with a backpack; the waist belt will cover up at least some of the pockets but luckily you can still use them even with a harness.

…..

Cons :

This is without a doubt one of the most breathable of waterproof jackets that I have used and still, I wish that there were pitzips. Not to release moisture but for the simple fact of airflow. In the air, hot summer day, hiking on the trail…some air here would be oh so nice!

When wearing this jacket with a backpack, the friction will wear off the DWR coating on the back and shoulders; luckily this is easy to reapply when needed.

While not a con for me, this jacket has not media port. Might be important to you.

Chest pocket has a cellphone sleeve….which I have found hard to use….so I don’t use it.

location of the drawcords on the hood: they reside deep inside the collar against the cheek, a location that is not convenient or easy to access for fine-tuning a hood fit. Not sure hard to adjust by any means but it may take some extra fiddling.

Additionally, the drawcord buckles used on the hood, as well as the single hem drawcord, are small and very difficult to release if wearing thick warm gloves.

..

Check out our web site for more information concerning everything seen on our Channel including reviews, insight into what is coming up and a chance to vote and influence our upcoming overnight adventures.

http://www.theoutdoorgearreview.com/

Share

Small + Powerful But Not Perfect – Olight Baton Pro Review – EDC – 2,000 Lumens

September 30, 2019

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Luke is here with a review of the newly released Olight Baton Pro flashlight and will be going over his pros and cons and even an odd glitch which he experienced with this EDC light.

Agenda Free Link : https://www.olightstore.com/baton-pro-bk.html

Check out our web site for more information concerning everything seen on our Channel including reviews, insight into what is coming up and a chance to vote and influence our upcoming overnight adventures.

http://www.theoutdoorgearreview.com/

Come Join Us on Facebook and Twitter:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter: https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev
…..

Share

The Rare Corpsman Assault Add-on Pack – Military Surplus

September 25, 2019

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Like military surplus? If so, you are going to like this as this is an awesome system which can be used for any purpose. This is the Corpsman Assault System and in this video I am focusing on the Corpsman Add-On pack.

Where to Buy : eBay is your Best bet

Price : These generally go for around $120 on the open market but they are rare and sellers will often exploit that. For an example, there is one for sale on eBay right now with the corpsman pack and they asking $550

Weight : 3lbs 12oz

Rarity : This are fairly uncommon when it comes to the civilian/military surplus market.

……..

Overview :

The Corpsman Assault System (CAS) is an SL-3 component of the Pack, Assemblage Medical, TAMCN C53322E, which includes Class VIII supplies and is managed by Program Manager, Supply and Maintenance Systems. The CAS design is government-owned and replaces the Corpsman Assault Pack (CAP) of the Individual Load Bearing Equipment (ILBE) Pack System. The CAS is part of the Family of ILBE.

Features :

The CAS is a modular/scalable medical first responder bag system tailorable to casualty expectations and mission duration.Components:The CAS consists of four bags: the medical assault pack, a medical sustainment bag, a medical thigh rig, and a modular medical pouch. It also includes reconfigurable internal components: a narcotics pouch, two medium pouches, two large pouches, two small reversible pouches, two medium reversible pouches, two elastic panels, a double pocket panel, a stacked pocket panel, and a triple pocket panel.
..

Check out our web site for more information concerning everything seen on our Channel including reviews, insight into what is coming up and a chance to vote and influence our upcoming overnight adventures.

http://www.theoutdoorgearreview.com/

Come Join Us on Facebook and Twitter:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter: https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev
…..

Share

Fenix LR40R USB-C Rechargeable 12000 Lumen Flashlight

September 24, 2019

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

Today Luke is reviewing a POWERHOUSE of a Flashlight;
12,000 Lumens of Power!

This is the Fenix LR40R USB-C Rechargeable Flashlight

Link : https://www.fenixlighting.com/product/fenix-lr40r-flashlight-12000-lumens/

Price : $356.00 – At the time of filming on sale for $269.95

Weight : 1lbs 8.6oz

Power : 12,000 Combined Lumens

Purpose : The Fenix LR40R is a high-performance rechargeable flashlight that combines a spotlight and floodlight to blast a max 12000 lumens 2100 feet (700 yards). Quickly charge this flashlight’s battery pack in as little as 3.3 hours via the USB Type-C port, or use the discharge function to charge your other devices. A battery level indicator lets you know the status of your batteries. Extremely small for a flashlight with this much power, only 6.1” long, this flashlight is the perfect tool for exploring and search and rescue.

Farms

What about night hiking? For night hiking, this is the ultimate flashlight; when the level of flood that this light provides, it’s like hiking with headlights; I’ve never experienced anything like what this flashlight provides in that regards.

Battery : Fenix ARB-L37-12000 rechargeable Li-ion battery pack,

Length: 6.1” (154mm)
Width: 3.2” (80mm)
Height: 2.0” (51mm)

Four blue lights on: 100% – 80% – Three blue lights on: 80% – 60%

Two blue lights on: 60% – 40% – One blue light on: 40% – 20% – One blue light flashes: 20% – 0

The broad beam contains 18 Cree XP-G3-S4 LED lights. The spotlight mode contains 1 Cree XP-L-HI V3 LED light. The flashlight works with the included Fenix ARB-L37-12000 rechargeable Li-ion battery. The battery has a capacity of 12000mAh and works up to 92 hours / 4 days.

Flood light

Turbo: 11000 lumens (45 minutes) – High II: 6000 lumens (2 hours) – High I: 3000 lumens (2 hours and 50 minutes)

Medium: 1000 lumens (7 hours and 15 minutes) – Low: 350 lumens (22 hours and 44 minutes)

Strobe: 3000 lumens – SOS: 350 lumens

Spotlight

High: 1000 lumens (7 hours) – Medium: 350 lumens (22 hours and 30 minutes)

Low: 150 lumens (44 hours and 31 minutes) – Eco: 60 lumens (92 hours and 18 minutes)

Second level flood adequate for walking and seeing the ground. It’s like hiking with headlights in front of you.

Distance of flood light is excellent. You can see close and far.

Throw is going to be the less used of the modes for most people and situations

Highest level of flood is extremely hot even after down shift.

Doesn’t create much heat for lower levels which one would use most of the time

Entire flashlight will get hot with the head being too hot to touch

Throw mode is only useable for long distance illumination.

Can use both modes at the same time.

Excellent search and rescue tool.

Stainless steel side switches – excellent

12000 combined lumens, not 12000 per mode which is disappointing. When you read the package and see those figures and turn it on for the first time it is a bit of a let down and that’s because it is only 6000 per mode.

Definitely heavy for backpacking but when handheld it’s not bad at all. It doesn’t wear you out or anything like that.

Excellent battery life

Can run on one or more 18650 batteries in an emergency situation

Battery level indictor

USB discharging function, backup for digital devices as you like. When discharging, you can still use this light in Eco and Low levels on Spotlight mode.

Lockable by holding both buttons

If you want to do night hiking and want to see all of the trail; 100% of it this is the light for the you as the output is amazing

USB-C Charging – The Type-C USB fast charging system only takes 3.3 hours to get a complete charge.

CONS :

Throw isn’t all that impressive in terms of brightness. Yes it throws a long distance, far further and brighter than your average flashlight but I would like to see it being even stronger. That is in my opinion the only real con other than the flashlight features a total of 12,000 lumens but that is combined and there isn’t a single mode which will over you true 12,000 lumens

With gloves on you are going to do some fiddling around searching for the buttons

Initial versions of this light featured incorrect SOS flashes but this has been addressed

With flood on, you will barely notice the throw beam.

..

Check out our web site for more information concerning everything seen on our Channel including reviews, insight into what is coming up and a chance to vote and influence our upcoming overnight adventures.

http://www.theoutdoorgearreview.com/

Come Join Us on Facebook and Twitter:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter: https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev
…..

Share

3+ Years Late – Q & A – Ask Me Anything – Part 8

September 23, 2019

Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

This is Part 8 of the Question and Answer Series….
it might be almost 4 years late but later is better than never!
Haha

Check out our web site for more information concerning everything seen on our Channel including reviews, insight into what is coming up and a chance to vote and influence our upcoming overnight adventures.

http://www.theoutdoorgearreview.com/

….

Come Join Us on Facebook and Twitter:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter: https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev
…..

Share

You Can’t Burn That Susie! 🔥 Viewer Mail Episode #64

September 20, 2019

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/theoutdoorgearreview/

It is mail time and look at what was sent in by some very generous viewers!

We are speechless and thankful!
..

Check out our web site for more information concerning everything seen on our Channel including reviews, insight into what is coming up and a chance to vote and influence our upcoming overnight adventures.

http://www.theoutdoorgearreview.com/

Come Join Us on Facebook and Twitter:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter: https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev
…..

Share

Before You Buy – Zpacks Duplex with Flex Freestanding Kit and Trekking Poles – Setup

September 18, 2019

This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
Support TOGR with Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/TOGR

Today Luke is setting up the Zpacks Duplex Tent which is one of the lightest tents that he has ever used and he is doing so with the Flex Freestanding Kit; the Setup process is very important when it comes to the purchasing a tent; how easy or how complex is it?

Link Zpacks Duplex :
Link Zpacks Flex Flex Freestanding Kit :
..

Check out our web site for more information concerning everything seen on our Channel including reviews, insight into what is coming up and a chance to vote and influence our upcoming overnight adventures.

http://www.theoutdoorgearreview.com/

Come Join Us on Facebook and Twitter:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229

Twitter: https://twitter.com/OutdoorGearRev
…..

1 2 3 5
Page 1 of 5
>